Tractor question

Semi-Pro

Full-Pro
I just got a new to me harrow. It's a single row. When in use it makes the tractor run doglegged. I have it level and the draft adjustment center and tight. I guess that's what it's called, I don't have chains. Any ideas?

Milkman

Deer Farmer Moderator
Staff member
A pic would help.

Width and number of discs the harrow has?
HP of tractor?

buckmanmike

If its a single row, does it have a right and left gang? Each disc in each gang face opposite directions. Right gang face one way, left gang the opposite.

Semi-Pro

Full-Pro
I'll try to get a pic today. It's a 39 hp Kubota with a loader.
The harrow is a single split row with 4 disks on each side. Shaped like a v. I'm fairly new to tractors so terminology is not good.

Whitefeather

Management Material
The harrow is a single split row with 4 disks on each side. Shaped like a v. I'm fairly new to tractors so terminology is not good.

Are both sides digging the same depth? You may have to adjust the arm height to level it out

Milkman

Deer Farmer Moderator
Staff member

Does dog legged mean it’s trying to turn the tractor while going straight?
Also, I make the assumption you are aware you have to lift the harrow to turn more than a few degrees.
Is the harrow a lighter on like the pic or much heavier frame?69EB2CCE-9E9F-4BF6-BF5D-6675B5AD54E1.jpeg

Semi-Pro

Full-Pro
Dog legged, trying to turn tractor while going straight. Yes much heavier duty frame

Park tractor on flat level surface with harrow hooked up.
Lower three point, adjust arm turnbuckles and top link until all discs make even flat contact and harrow frame is level side to side front to back and square to tractor.
Next ensure all disc boxings or bushings are in good shape and lubed if needed.

This should fix you.