Turkey Hunting around Fort Benning

ogilly

Evening y'all,

I'm a soldier who is stationed at Fort Benning for an Army school until the end of June. I'm an avid turkey hunter originally from the Midwest, and have over the past few years really began branching out from my home state to try to pursue the ever-elusive American Grand Slam. My current state total is 5, and I'm hoping to cross Alabama and Georgia off the list this year during the time that I have off from training. I have a couple questions for the group, hoping you fine people have some words of advice.

Knowing Alabama opening day is this weekend, I have spent the past few weekends scouting various public land spots for sign of any kind. I started in the Tuskegee National Forest, only to spend a whole weekend there not so much as cutting a track or hearing a gobble. I moved to the Barbour County WMA where I have been lucky enough to see quite a few hens in a concentrated area, but no longbeards on the public land as of yet. I was able to track down a very big gobble yesterday, but he was across a fence line on private. With the help of OnX and the internet, I was able to reach out to the landowner through LinkedIn (I can get into that further if anyone is curious), but have not received a response yet. I know that's a bit of a longshot, but it's better to try and fail than to not and never know. I have also scouted a few public spots in Georgia with helpful advice from a couple friends who live in the area, as well as buddies who have gone through the same course I am in now. I have had much more success finding sign on this side of the border, but with the spots I've checked being primarily quota hunts early on in the GA season, I am focusing on Alabama for the time being.