fella in rowan county, nc seen baby turkeys.....

brucemacgee19

my buddy called me today and said that he was hunting when into the field came a hen with her gaggle of turkey poults........ now I'm not a rocket scientist or anything, but when did she get bred? if the poults were two weeks old, then she got bred atleast 6 six weeks ago right? how in the world did that happen when there wasn't any gobbling going on till 3 weeks ago? I though the gobblers always came in heat or rut first, then a week later the hens got hot, then two weeks after that they go to laying? they should be laying now here? woody's need to give me some insight on this matter.

gamechaser

Bruce a couple years back I hunted a place near plains ga. and had a gobbler sounding of the roost within 50 yrds of my climbing stand. There was a hen coming up the logging road yelping and clucking. i watched him fly right down to her then she shut right up. Did they breed Idon't know, but i had heard birds gobbling around this time before. Iwas deer hunting and it was the second week in january. the first time i set foot on this property me and 3 other guys were walking thru fresh clear cut and saw to male birds fighting. it was the week after deer season ended.

huntmstr

Banned
It's very common in FL, parts of GA and SC for turkeys to start gobbling in January and, in certain pockets, bread out well before the season even starts. The drought we had also put animals in panic mode and started their breeding cycles way early this year as well. Our rut started around Oct 23 this year and I was seeing bucks chasing does all over the place 2 weeks prior to the normal onset of that activity. Central FL and lowland SC are notorious for turkeys doing the same thing. It's one of the reasons the Osceola is so tight lipped and hard to call...he's all but done by the time the season starts in most of the state.

brucemacgee19