Whiting Biting?

tdenton

I have a couple young kids wanting to catch some fish on Saturday. Looks like decent weather. We normally fish out of Fort McCallister area. Should we target whiting in the sound or catfish up river? Any suggestions appreciated!

MajorMaes

Whiting should be good for this weekend. A few friends were wearing them out at F reef and my logs from last year this time has it as a good time to start targeting them again.

WalkinDead

Banned
A friend and I have been catching them well at St. Marys inlet. I would imagine you could do the same at the north and south ends of Jekyll Island in the sounds. We were catching the larger whiting in deeper water over live bottom.

tdenton

Thank you all for the help. Anyone familiar with the north end of ossabaw area? I’m just learning my way around.

tdenton

Well I don't know what I did wrong but I tried them on Saturday just off the north end of Ossabaw Island. Tide wasn't great, beginning of outgoing. Caught a couple stingrays and that was it. Then I went upriver toward Fort McCallister and fished a couple runouts and also caught stingrays. Went further upriver and did catch three white catfish. Lots of fishing and not much catching. About 5 hours worth!

WalkinDead

Banned
We were fishing 40 feet deep on the edge of the current as it left the jetties. Couldn't find them anywhere else, and we tried several popular places. It may be several weeks before they move into shallower water to spawn. The females all had row just starting to form; prime time is still weeks away. A combination of shrimp/squid was the key and they would hit just as you lifted it off the bottom.

tdenton