How Many Old Time Fisherman Had a Zebco 202 or 33 ?

Hillbilly stalker

First fishing reel I ever owned was a Zebco 202. My Cousin and I both bought one from a store in Florence SC back around 1960. The reel came with a rod packaged together on a thin piece of cardboard wrapped in clear plastic with line and practice plug. The old 202's caught quite a few fish for us. One day I hooked a pretty big Largemouth Bass and I guess that fish stripped the plastic gears in it because it worked no more after that...Then I graduated to a Zebco 33. It was a better reel and operated very smoothly...Finally I graduated to an open faced spinning reel which I liked better after I got used to them..Wish I had an old 202 just for a keep sake but I don't.. I still have a Zebco 33 hanging on the wall of my shop still on the rod it came with decades ago...Cheap reels to have some fishing fun with, thanks Zebco...If I remember correctly they made a 404 and a 808. Some of my friends used the 808 for years to catch Striped Bass in the Santee Cooper Lakes down in SC many years ago..
Let me check my box when I get home. I believe I have a 202 in there. If I do, its yours, I'll send it to you.

Redbow

Let me check my box when I get home. I believe I have a 202 in there. If I do, its yours, I'll send it to you.
Thanks Hillbilly stalker, I will be glad to pay the postage if you have one..

JonathanG2013

Yes reel grown up as a Zebco 33. Also used a 202 as well that my uncle had at his farm pond in west GA. Lost count of how many fish I have caught with those.

Oldstick

Have ya'll seen the antique reel and lure collection on display at the GoFish aquarium in Perry? I think a lot of stuff came from Charlie Elliot's collections among other folks. Very interesting and nostalgic to see.

zedex

Gator Bait
I had a 202 my grandfather got for me. He was a truck driver and picked up a lot of stuff along his routes.
That 202 saw a lot of action, even if it was just casting practice.

Redbow