Bar's Leaks Head Gasket Sealer

Fletch_W

Banned
More Oldsmobile Chronicles... I've searched some topics here and found many of you have used this product.

Instructions:
http://www.barsproducts.com/tech/1100_tech.pdf

It says to remove any spark plugs that are fouled by coolant (Step 2), then proceed with idling for 5 minutes with heat on high. I assume it means to say remove just the spark plug wire? I'm no expert, but shouldn't the plug still be in there while the engine is running? Step 9 says put the spark plug back in. That's counterintuitive to what little I know about motors.

Last edited:
More Oldsmobile Chronicles... I've searched some topics here and found many of you have used this product.

Instructions:
http://www.barsproducts.com/tech/1100_tech.pdf

It says to remove any spark plugs that are fouled by coolant (Step 2), then proceed with idling for 5 minutes with heat on high. I assume it means to say remove just the spark plug wire? I'm no expert, but shouldn't the plug still be in there while the engine is running? Step 9 says put the spark plug back in. That's counterintuitive to what little I know about motors.

Your engine will run fine without the plug. Loud, but fine. Bar's Leak needs exposure to air, that's why they want you to remove the plug if coolant is leaking into the cylinder.

I would secure the plug wire well away from the plug hole, and away from metal.

Fletch_W

Banned
I'll tape it up real good and expect loudness... thanks for that reply.

If more than 1 plug in a 6 cyl motor is fouled... how many can I leave out and still be able to run the car?

the r.o.c.

youd be better off finding a good mechanic and having gasgets put in. i tried that stuff and all it did was gunk up . ended up having to buy a gasget set and spending a whole day helping the guy replace gasgets. that sealant could clog your heater core and or radiator. jmo

rjcruiser