Smoker Jerkey - need help

joey1919

ok, so i make jerkey every year but last christmas i got a masterbuilt electric smoker i've only used it once so don't have much experience with it. do any of ya'll make jerky in these. i want to try it so i'm open to suggestions, recipies, temp reccomendations especially. for you that have done it how did it turn out compared to dehydrater.

also i've got oak, pecan, apple, and hickory wood ready to go, which do you suggest, thanks

WOODIE13

2023 TURKEY CHALLENGE 1st place Team
Used a fire smoker, keep your temp @ 150, apple makes it sweet along with pear and other fruit wood. Soy, teryaki sauce, garlic, onion, paparika, pepper powder and a little sugar/maple syrup, and a pinch of salt for marinade.

I have done both, just like the dehydrater better, but have done the smoker for an hour or two then put in the dehydrater just for a good smokey flavor.

blues brother

I have done jerky in the oven for years...way before Ronco ever thought about a dehydrator. Then got a dehydrator. Then bought several Stumps smokers(charcoal).
I like them all but my fav is the dehydrator. I too have put the meat on the smoker for a bit then into the dehydrator. Straight smoker is just too smokey for me.

joey1919

thanks for the advice. may do half in the smoker and half in the dehydrator to compare

tbrown913