Chainsaw bar size question

Robert28

I was going to buy a new Stihl 261cm the other day and the dealer only had an 18” and 20” bar. I wanted a 16” for a saw this size (50cc) but stihl is having a time with getting bars to dealers, I talked to 4 stihl dealers and they all said the same thing. They need bars and can’t get them and stihl ships the saws with whatever they can, the one I almost bought came with a 20” and for what I want this saw for that was too big. This saw won’t be for felling, unless it’s small trees, I have a bigger saw (ms440) for that. I just wanted something smaller than didn’t weigh 15lbs. I tend to like to run smaller bars on saws, I want them to scream. I guess I can get the saw with 18” and get a 16” whenever stihl gets around to stocking bars more regularly. I just wanted to make sure this would work first.

1eyefishing

...just joking, seriously.
That appears to be a good powerful professional use saw.They didn't make that when I was a professional with 6 to 10 running saws at my disposal any time.
I would just be very sure to get the bars (AND CHAINS) with the yellow not green color code.

Robert28

Interesting.

I run a 24” bar. It’s great to not have to bend over so far and I got more teethe so I sharpen it less.
I have a 20” I keep on my 440 but would love one of the new “light” bars in 25”. You can’t get em though. One dealer sells husqvarna and stihl together and says stihl is losing some sales to them because husky has it on the shelf and stihl doesn’t, so the customer leaves with something else other than stihl. Husky has some issues but nothing like stihl is having according to him.

Robert28

That appears to be a good powerful professional use saw.They didn't make that when I was a professional with 6 to 10 running saws at my disposal any time.
I would just be very sure to get the bars (AND CHAINS) with the yellow not green color code.