Coon Setup Question

swm

After reading GON trapping article last year I purchased DP coon traps and have had good success removing coons & possums. My purchase included 7x7 5/64 DP cable extensions that I wrap around tree base and connect to trap via threaded link.

Yesterday caught a coon at 2:15am, had several trailcam pics of him in trap but by 4am coon, trap & cable were gone. Guess cable somehow broke after no issues past 9 months. Cable was not frayed and feel bad there's a coon out there with some extra baggage.

Question – I’m new to trapping, should this type cable be used to secure DP coon trap or something else?

Appreciate any advice from the experts. Thanks

sportsman94

has the cable been left out the whole time? Seems like a strange occurrence, but anything can happen. The cable could have started rusting from the inside and he could have kinked it just right. I use 1/8” for most everything involving cable on my line

swm

has the cable been left out the whole time? Seems like a strange occurrence, but anything can happen. The cable could have started rusting from the inside and he could have kinked it just right. I use 1/8” for most everything involving cable on my line
I don't leave traps or cables outside except when in use. No rust showing on cables they're still shiny. Caught another coon this morning and no issues. I appreciate the info!!

dfurdennis

After reading GON trapping article last year I purchased DP coon traps and have had good success removing coons & possums. My purchase included 7x7 5/64 DP cable extensions that I wrap around tree base and connect to trap via threaded link.

Yesterday caught a coon at 2:15am, had several trailcam pics of him in trap but by 4am coon, trap & cable were gone. Guess cable somehow broke after no issues past 9 months. Cable was not frayed and feel bad there's a coon out there with some extra baggage.