Hunting out of a tree you've planted?

Pilgrim

Just wondering if anyone here has ever had the opportunity to hunt out of a tree that you planted years ago. I've got a few sawtooth oaks that I planted over a decade ago, and I'm hoping to get to hang in one sometime in the next few years. If you've got em, please share pics from when you planted - and current pics of the stand in the tree!

DocBar

It’s funny you brought this up. I planted a stand of longleaf when I graduated college in 2001. I’ve been babying them ever since and finally had to thin them this year. While I was doing that, I was thinking that it won’t be long before I can get a climbing stand up one. I suspect there aren’t too many people who kill a deer out of a tree they planted.

Nicodemus

Old and Ornery
Staff member
I've never hunted out of them but there's a pile of longleaf pines and a good many swamp chestnut oaks that I've planted over the years that are aplenty big enough.

GeorgiaGlockMan

Yes, kinda but not really planted.

Just avoided a few red oaks since Bush hogging around a bunch of sappling for 20 years.

I now call one "the killing tree"

Jim Boyd

I have not and that troubles me.

Milkman

Deer Farmer Moderator
Staff member
I haven’t though of it like this.
I have a stand of loblolly that I planted in February of 2000. Many are large enough to either climb or support a ladder stand. We hunt the tract from a box stand and a ladder on a large volunteer sweetgum. Maybe I should put up a ladder on one of the pines.

Jimmypop

Here's a tree I planted 51 years ago that's had a lot of deer hanging under it, but I've never climbed up in it and shot one. But I could have if I had wanted to many times. I have just always shot'um from the ground and then hung'um . It seems to work better for me that way.

Attachments

• IMG_20151024_085328 (1).jpg
    IMG_20151024_085328 (1).jpg
    213.6 KB · Views: 41

earlthegoat2