Insulating/venting ceiling. Experts or experiences?

kayaksteve

I finishing a 16’x32’ “upgraded” storage building for my dad to live in on our property. I got a pretty decent plan laid out and feel pretty good about all of it so far. I’m pretty handy but this is my first build of any kind to this extent. The roof will be 2x6 rafters with plywood sheathing and metal roofing. I want to leave the ceiling vaulted to make it feel bigger and cut back on material. Do I need to go vented or unvented? Baffles? The roofs aren’t built with much over hang on these buildings so I’m not sure about soffit vents. Ridge vents are an option from manufacturer. I’m just confused on if I have to vent or if I can seal everything. Any advice or experience appreciated.

F.A.R.R.

Ridge vent and soffit vents work to vent attic spaces. From what you were saying there won’t be any attic space, right ?

If that’s true you’d be like looking at putting up insulation in the space between the roof rafters

kayaksteve

Ridge vent and soffit vents work to vent attic spaces. From what you were saying there won’t be any attic space, right ?

If that’s true you’d be like looking at putting up insulation in the space between the roof rafters
Yes, There will be no attic space. If that will work. I just wasn’t sure if I still needed venting with baffles between the sheathing and insulation or if I could go no vents and insulation right against the sheathing.

kayaksteve

spray foam and be done with it
Thats obviously the best option and one I’ll look more into when its time to insulate but, my dad is retired with no income and we’re already stretching our budget to get this done so any options I have to save money that’s not going to cause major issues I’m trying to make work. Thanks for the input!

NE GA Pappy

Mr. Pappy