New Trapper...Not Sure What Happened...Advice?

I’m by no means a professional, but I do catch a critter every now and then. I can’t speak for the 650’s (not legal here) but the 550’s are set perfect out of the box.
I don’t worry about scent, there’s no way on Gods green Earth I’m not gonna leave scent in SW Georgia. Even our winters are warm, lol. I have a pair of leather gloves I use the set traps with then once all traps are set I put out bait and lure with bare hands.
Now, not familiar with the bait, but that Violator 7 is some potent stuff. Just a little will do ya. As far as urine, I try not to use to much. It seems our deer love fox pee, bobcat pee, and coyote pee. If your traps are sprung with no catch circle and nothing else disturbed, more than likely deer. I’ve watched them on a cell camera I had watching 2 coyote traps, and I hadn’t been out of the area 4 hours and they were all up around the trap smelling where I had baited and tried coyote urine...hoof prints on the jaw, lol.
The quickest I’ve ever caught a coyote is the second check. And that was setting dead where they walk, not off to the side but directly on their trail. And be careful about guiding coyotes, I’ve had better luck just getting them to shuffle their feet trying to get the bait.
And to give you hope, the first coyote I ever caught was caught in 2 week old trap that had only been baited and lured on the initial set. And I’m so jealous of y’alls Snow!! Hard to see track so in pine needles and grass covered two tracks!!

Wow...tons of great info here. Thank you. The 650s barely made the legal limit in my state, so I thought I would try. A-men on the Violator...very strong. I just dipped the tip of twig in it...but maybe putting lots of sets up and down the wagon road made too much scent? Maybe I should limit to a couple of sets per 200 yards or so? I was just trying to up my odds because they are so regular on camera.

Mark K

Banned