Point ID

antharper

“Well Rounded Outdoorsman MOD “
Staff member
I’m not a expert either and it could be authentic but I’d bet not . I’m sure someone that can for sure tell will let us know . I’m curious as well . It’s a mighty fine piece

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
Looks like a modern Dalton made by a pretty good knapper from heat-treated chert. Either that, or it's one of the top handful on earth of dug grave goods museum-quality Daltons in existence. If that chert is heat-treated, that doesn't fit with the transitional Paleo era when Dalton points were made.

JohnnyVegas

I’m skeptical as well. Just trying to get the details for a friend. He says it was found during the construction of a home. Been to the area and personally found many large pieces of pottery and other points laying around on the surface.

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
I’m skeptical as well. Just trying to get the details for a friend. He says it was found during the construction of a home. Been to the area and personally found many large pieces of pottery and other points laying around on the surface.
Pottery came about 8,000 years after that style of point was in use. If it is authentic, that is a top-shelf specimen. Do you mind saying what area this was found in? That would help type the material it should be made from. And, most Daltons of that size and style come from Arkansas, Missouri, or somewhere out in that area.

Nicodemus

Old and Ornery
Staff member
It came from an area adjacent to the Ohoopee River in southern Emanuel County.