rattling \time of day?

olroy

just wonder if you think the time of day matters when rattling?
i did manage to rattle a 5 point in about 45 yards ove the weekend but he really didn't seem that interested but this is my first year of doing this.
but in my county it has to be 8 or bigger anyway.

horsecreek

for its been when ,

wait. ...I cant help ya....sorry.
:whip:

Junebug

When the mood strikes them, they'll respond ANYTIME.

I've had them come to the horns morning and evening alike. The biggest was a SOLID 140ish 10pt that came in 45 minutes before dark. Last year I had 2 bucks thrashing bushes and grunting after coming to the horns at 830 in the morning. As I recall, I've had more response in the morning than afternoon.

I have confidence with the horns so I'll try 'em anytime.

HayBurner

JuneBug,
How did you learn how to rattle?
Is there a place on the web that i can and look at to learn how.
Also what are the best rattling horns to buy.
HayBurner

Junebug

Trial and error.

My best recommendation is to get past the feeling silly-making racket-I'll spook every deer in the county-this will never work-mindset and just try it. It may take a few times (trial and error) but when it finally works for you, you'll have to confidence to try it again, and again. Before you know it, it's in your bag of tricks for good.

You can find information on the internet, in hunting mags, tv shows, and video tapes. Listen to the sequences they use, including grunting, and whipping brush/saplings. Sometimes they'll be hunting in places like Texas or the midwest where buck/doe ratios are more favorable to rattling. Other times they'll be in the southeast or out west. When conditions are right it'll happen for you sooner or later...right here at home.