Chestnut Oaks

Chuck C

We have a fair population of chestnut oaks on our property and I was curious as to the desireablility of their acorns to deer. I understand that this tree ia a member of the white oak familiy but I have never hunted ander or around them so I have no first hand knowledge of their consumption by whitetails.

The chestnut oaks I have in my backyard are dropping an enormous quantity and all of the acorns are gigantic, the size of medium pecans or bigger.

I was debating making the long(expedition) walk to the far side of my property and checking it out if they are consumed as well as white oaks.

Jeff Phillips

I would make the trip.

Chestnut oak acorns are near the top of the list of preferred acorns.

Meriwether Mike

As soon as the White Oaks are eaten they will head to the Chesnut Oaks. I have seen this first hand on my old Heard lease.

I hunted a tract in Barrow county when I was teenager that had a patch of Chesnut Oaks in the middle of a huge hay field. The deer would come across that hay field in broad daylight to get to that food source. We took a buch of deer off of that spot.

I would definately make the trip.

Timberman

chestnut oaks.

I am assuming you are referring to swamp chesnut oaks, which is as palatable as white oak. True chestnut oak makes very large acorns that are very bitter. It is an upland poor ground species.They are last in line as far as palatability, and usually are utilized after all others are gone. :)

Timberman,

Aren't swamp chestnut oak acorns much larger than white oaks also? I have a few stands in what I believe to be swamp chestnut oaks. The bark looks like a white oak, the leaves are oval with ridged edges, and the acorns are large. Are these swamp chestnut oak and a good place to hunt?

Arrow Flinger

Timberman said: