Deer you've shot with your bow

Wetzel

North American Whitetail was on the Outdoor Channel today and was showing a bowhunt out west where the hunter shot a nice buck and after running a little ways, the buck stopped, staggered around a little, and finally fell over.

During most hunting shows, the deer runs out of range of the camera and then must be blood trailed later, but every once in a while you see a hunt where the deer goes down within sight of the hunter. Since I'm new to archery, I'm curious how often this occurs.

Occassionally I've seen the archer on a hunting show make a bad shot and hit the deer in the neck or back, which results in the deer going down on the spot. Some might say if the deer was killed quickly and wasn't lost it wasn't a bad shot, but I don't think this was the hit the shooter had in mind when he released his arrow, since most hunters want to put the arrow through the lungs of the deer.

How many times have you made a good shot on a deer with your archery gear and had the deer go down within sight?

raghorn

I don't have any numbers,but a lot more often than you would think. An arrow with a sharp broad head properly placed is just as lethal as a firearm.Most people that don't bowhunt underestimate the killing power of a modern arrow.

sowega hunter

I have had a couple fall within sight and a couple fall where I saw them from the stand once I climbed down. I also dropped 1 in its tracks. If you have good equipment and make good shots it will happen more than you think. Sowega.

Duff

The first deer I got with my bow never knew it had been hit. I was on the ground and shot it 20 yds broadsided. My arrow passed thru and buried in an oak tree. The doe ran about twenty yds and stopped, looked back at me until she collaped.

sweatequity

within 100 yards

I have lost a lot of deer over the years but most that I recovered were within 100 yards. To keep from losing deer, I never shoot outside 25 and try for 15-20. Much more exciting that way.