coyotes killing my calves!

jgyfarms

this is the third year in a row that i've lost at least one calf to yotes. yall got any good advice on how/where/when the best way to kill em all? calls? day, night, morning? any help would be great. i tried calling them in last year but never had any luck. thanks!

drhayes

Don't know where you are located in the state. I am in Pickens county. I am new to yote hunting. If you are close maybe we can learn together. Don't waste your money on expensive electronic callers. While I have no experience, I found it very easy to produce distress sounds with store bought mouth calls. I sounded just like the pro on the dvd within a few hours. I spent 20 bucks on 2 calls and a dvd.

pm me your email and I will send you an e-book on yote hunting with some good info.

NoOne

Gone but not forgotten.
this is the third year in a row that i've lost at least one calf to yotes. yall got any good advice on how/where/when the best way to kill em all? calls? day, night, morning? any help would be great. i tried calling them in last year but never had any luck. thanks!

If you have a dead calf or cow and they have not finished it off, position yourself downwind about 75 to 100 yards and wait on them to come to the carcass to feed. An accurate semi-auto rifle should allow you to take a couple out. You could trap them with steel traps. If you have a good size creek on your property with a good size log crossing it, most likely the yotes will use that log for crossing. You can make a log set and catch a bunch but you will also catch a lot of coons and foxes with this set up. If you want to know how to make this set, you can pm me and I'll tell you in detail how to do it.I believe you will need a trapping license to do this.

redtick