Electrical question

JohnnyWalker

I have an empty slot in my power panel and I was thinking about running a circuit out to the garage door for 30 AMP service there. I plan on hooking up the camper when the grand kids come.

My questions:
What gauge wire should I use. The distance from the box to the garage door is 45 feet.

Does the 30 AMP camper outlet wire up any differently than a standard 10-15 AMP outlet?

Should I use a 30 AMP ground fault breaker switch in the power panel?

I'm not an electrician but I have added house hold circuits to the power panels in the past but they were all the standard 110V, 15 AMP variety.

Milkman

Deer Farmer Moderator
Staff member
I have an empty slot in my power panel and I was thinking about running a circuit out to the garage door for 30 AMP service there. I plan on hooking up the camper when the grand kids come.

My questions:
What gauge wire should I use. The distance from the box to the garage door is 45 feet.

Does the 30 AMP camper outlet wire up any differently than a standard 10-15 AMP outlet?

I'm not an electrician but I have added house hold circuits to the power panels in the past but they were all the standard 110V, 15 AMP variety.

Use a 10/3 cable. The receptacle will be very similar to a standard duplex. It should have a bronze, silver, and green screw for the respective wires. Bronze black, silver white, green for green.

The GF breaker would be a plus for safety IMO.

Utube has some videos for different variations of doing an RV outlet as well.

Oldstick

+ 1 on the above. You might want to make the 30 amp female receptacle at the door be the same type as the 30 amp male plug you have coming out of the camper. That way you won't need any extra extension cords.

If you're running the new wires around the exposed wall areas of the garage, just put it inside PVC conduit all the way to the outlet and it will be perfectly safe.

Bob Shaw