Well, we didn't eliminated the species

ucfireman

Will be interesting to see what happens when folks are able to hunt and not being rained on. I'm not a proponent but to each their own.

spencer12

One thing baiting did help with was ticks. The neighbors must be feeding those protein pellets with tick repellent/ whatever in them because there was not a single tick on any of the 8 deer we killed this year throughout the season, and that's unheard of.

Didn't see too many this year either for whatever reason. I killed an 8 point in November that was completely clean. We hadn't even had a real good frost yet.

green thumb

I was just looking over the harvest totals today and to say that baiting had no impact does not seem to be the case.
2016/2017 total harvest was 182,749
2016 Southern Zone 96,995 or 53% of the harvest
2016 Northern Zone 85,754 or 47% of the harvest

2017/2018 total harvest was 184,395
2017 Southern Zone 97,213 or 53% of the harvest
2017 Northern Zone 87,182 or 47% of the harvest

2018/2019 total harvest has been 163,799 as of this morning with extended archery adding to that total
2018 "Southern Zone" 76,975 or 47% of harvest
2018 "Northern Zone" 86,824 or 53% of harvest with extended archery adding to this

Now I think the hurricane damage could be a cause for decreased southern zone harvest numbers but all the rainy days should have impacted the harvest numbers pretty evenly for both the Northern and Southern Zones. Other than baiting being introduced in the Northern Zone, what other reasons would have led to such a harvest percentage shift between zones or the fact that the Southern Zone was significantly down ie rainy days, but the Northern Zone did not see a drop?

nmurph

The number of deer killed this year has way more to do with the population in the preceding several years. If it didn't make the kill total go up, then why not do away with it? It obviously doesn't help.

rosewood