First time planting plots and needing advice

hunter 85

Needing some food plot help. This is my first time at trying to really plant a food plot other than just throwing out no till. I’ve got two spots I’m going to plant and have not gotten soil samples done as this is kinda an impulse decision to do an running out of time to plant. I am planning on putting out probably 1500 lb of lime as I don’t believe the soil is very good and I’m having to do all the work by hand and tiller. I got a clay pea and soybean mix and purple top turnips to plant but I’m wondering if I go ahead and put the turnips out will they still grow and the deer eat them as I will not be able to get out in the fall to retill and plant. So if they won’t stay growing into the fall/winter can I just throw the seed out in the fall and it grow? Also can I use something like malorginite ( not sure of spelling) to keep the deer off the peas long enough for them to actually grow,or will it cause the plot to go bust and they not eat it at all? Sorry for the long post but thanks in advance for any help.

Canuck5

Food Plot advisor extraordinaire !
Do yourself a favor and before you put anything down, go ahead and take a soil sample. It will cost you $10 or so and really and truly may save you a lot of money, or it may save you a lot of heartache. It will be the cheapest, yet most important food plotting decision you can make .... for $10!

If you are doing an iron and clay cowpea/soybean mix, by hand and with a tiler, I am assuming you're doing a very tiny plot. Something less than acre, I suppose? If that is the case, I'd save those seeds and plant them with my fall mix, because they just won't last any length of time and the deer will have them consumed in a matter of 24 hours, once they emerge. That is, unless you put an electric fence around them.

Turnips are a cool season crop, so save those seeds till the fall. Don't plant them now.