duck yak tips

mcduckman

Anybody have any suggestions for yaks suitable for winter time. I am doing some waterfowl sampling in various rivers/streams in north ga and need some advice on combatting the elements and brands of good kayaks for this. I have little experience in a kayak, so I want to gain some experience before it gets cold.

FERAL ONE

Shutter Mushin' Mod
if there is not much rapids, my commander would be a flat out awesome duck hunting boat. especially sitting in the captains perch. if there is a few rapids, the coosa in camo would be an awesome hunting boat. that being saind, cold weather and water safety should be as important as your firearm safety on the water. both can kill you quick if ya take em for granted !!!

FERAL ONE

Shutter Mushin' Mod
i disagree with sit inside. if i was hunting of fishing in the winter , i would be wearing waders under my pfd anyway. i like sit insides , but only for paddling . they are not the best option for fishing or hunting .

puddlehunter

Jackson Daytripper or Coosa. The seat lays completely flat inside the boat and makes an awesome layout boat.

On the coosa if you put two pieces of PVC in the rod holders and run a line to the front handle, hang your blind material and you can close it like a curtain. If you lean the seat back just a bit your pretty covered.

The DayTripper has a skirt available that covers the cockpit. Throw a bit of camo on it to break it up lean the seat back and you look like a log. The boat has rounded lines, break it up just a little and blend right in.

You can get the tripper in Camo for $50 extra. 6-12 decoys fit behind the seat and keep the lines outta the way.

PM if you want to see the camo

Wishin I was Fishin