First time tagging out!

stevo15

I've been hunting for about 15 years now and 5 years ago my Dad and I picked up a 240 acre lease in Middle Ga. The first couple of years we hardly saw a deer and shot several hogs. Since then I have killed my first buck and doe with a bow as well as seen the number of deer we see increase every year.

Early in the season I killed a doe with my bow and saw a couple of shooter bucks but just out of range. In the last 2 weeks the rut hit and we had some hot does. The first 3 pics are of the buck I killed first (8 point). I shot him at 6:50 AM while cruising a trail coming off of a ridge on a really cold morning. I was pumped!!

Last week I was working on a stand, putting feed out, and just doing work on the property. I finished up and had an hour and 10 minutes left of daylight so I went and sat in my favorite spot. It ended up being the best hunt of my life. 3 does came out followed shortly after by a tall 8 point that would have been my biggest deer to date. I watched him for 30 minutes with the safety off trying to decide if I wanted to shoot this deer or not. The entire time, does are pouring in. I ended up seeing 16 deer that night. The last 10 minutes of daylight 3 does came up behind me at 15 yards and a minute later a big 10 showed up. He stayed in the edge of the woods and tried to skirt me for a few minutes, but the amount of does in the area messed his brain up and he decided to come in to feed and be with them. I shot him and he dropped. When I got to him I experienced the opposite of ground shrinkage. He was bigger than I expected and by far my largest deer to date.

This will be my first deer I will mount. I am beyond excited and thankful for such a great year. You can't explain this to people that don't hunt. There is just something special about being in the woods!

Attachments

• IMG_9848.jpg
    IMG_9848.jpg
    27.7 KB · Views: 2,115
  • IMG_9843.jpg
    IMG_9843.jpg
    141 KB · Views: 2,109
  • IMG_9845.jpg