Got a Ga. turkey survey call today

sea trout

2021 Turkey Challenge Winner 2022 biggest turkey ?
I've never done a survey, like most have already stated I don't answer my phone either.

Just thinking out loud because I'm no expert but I like to think about it. I wonder if delaying the opener would even INCREASE the harvest of gobblers?

Just my 2 cents is I think prime time for gobblers of a broader variety of ages and flock status to come to a turkey callers set up is early to late April.
I think a lot of hunters are successful opening week on younger and lonelier gobblers. Also opening week there are some hunters who get some serious big ol Toms!!
I think when April is in and hens require Toms less and less, I think many hunters have called it quits and many gobblers are call shy/hunter cautious.
If opening week was early April I wonder if opening week harvest numbers would dwarf the numbers of opening week late March?

Just a thought, like I said I don't know nuthin. Most times I don't like to argue or be slammed on here, I just like to read your thoughts and give mine and maybe understand something. That's why I'm stressing that I don't know for fact and this is just my 2 cents. I think without hearing someones voice and watching their body language it's easy to read and think someone is trying to "this is what I say and this is what it is and everyone else is wrong". Just want y'all to know that's not how I'm writing.

six

Sea Trout, I think along the same lines as you on this. I don't know if the actual kill numbers would be more, but I'm betting more would be called to their demise. I say this only because I know a few people who kill opening weekend because they have the birds patterned and or baited. Once that first opportunity is fulfilled, these same people struggle after that. But I guess these people would just delay their ambush a week.

Timber1

BANNED