rookie to flyfishing

gabreamfanatic

ok guys like it says i am a rookie at this. i need all the help and info i can take in. what would be the best set up fr a newbie? what i will be mainly fishing for is bream and crappie. i do have a bass pro here in sav and been looking at their intro fly rod. so would that one be a good starting point for me. thanks rob.

Sargent

Don't go ultra cheap. I would look at Temple Fork's lower-priced rods and a White River (BPS house brand) reel.

My fly fishing forte (what there is of it) doesn't lie with lake fishing.

I would go with a good starter line (floating, weight forward).

Good luck.

Bitteroot

Polar Bear Moderator
What Sargent said! :cool:

Plus I would look at about a 6-7 weight rod in a 9 foot length. Give's better distance and presentation when throwing bigger flies for bass, and over sized poppers. Weight forward line is much better for bigger stuff. 8-9 weight rods will throw MUCH bigger stuff, but its really over kill unless you are tossing for Trophy bass only.

Poppers, streamers, and wooly worms are great. Also, a few hopper patterns. Don't overlook Strip Leach patterns for bass either. They don't sink real fast and stay somewhat suspended. In early spring, a slow finger retrieve, will get the rod took out of your hands!

injun joe

Gone But Not Forgotten