Rookie made a mistake.

Welp I guess this is my intro post. I’m new to hunting, so new I’ve actually never been. I live in Atlanta and plan to hunt public land for now till I can gain access to private property. None of my family hunts but I’ve always had a slight Intrest but never made the move. It’s harder than I thought to find veteran hunters to take you out and teach you so I’m diving in solo.

With that said I planned all week to head over to allatoona wma in Sunday for my solo intro hunt. The wife (8 months pregnant) agreed I could use the alone time and I accepted. I received my scope in the mail from vortex today and decided I’d go ahead and get everything mounted for the range on Friday. Well that’s the kicker; my scope rings for my ruger don’t fit my tikka t3x light. With only a few days left before I head out there’s no time to order online so I have 2 options. Cancel my first ever hunt or spend significantly more money than I want to in mounts local. Unfortunately I dont have much extra cash after picking up the other standard gear that I may have to cancel. I’m super upset but I guess that’s the way it goes. So i guess if anyway has some ring mounts that will fit a tikka and your kind of close to Atlanta please let me know. Even if I can just barrow them for the weekend that would be awesome.

anyway here I am still excited for what ever is to come for me. I look forward to meeting experienced hunters and learning from this forum.

ugajay

Welcome to the forum!! Not being smart and not sure you know, but when reading that I was wondering if you knew you had to sight in the rifle after mounting the scope before taking it out hunting

Thunder Head

Gone but not forgotten
Welcome to the board!

Do you still have the ruger? Just use it if you do.

First off.
Its going to be tough. The deer have been pressured for weeks already. Just dont get discouraged. You may want to consider this a warm up for next year.