Fairly New to Planting, My Dove/Deer plot (pics) . . .

ChattBuck

. . greatly appreciate all the advice I've gotten here so far. Been a great resource going back and reading a ton of posts the past few weeks. Had a lot of questions answered by you kind folks and I appreciate it. As the kids say, I'm a noob to this but I'm having a ball learning.

I'm up in severe NW GA, 3 miles from TN border. Bought a 38 acre place a couple of years ago fulfilling a lifelong dream to finally own a place that would require me to purchase a tractor. Have about a 15 acre hay field in the front of the property which is relatively flat. Rest of property is wooded along on the side of White Oak Mtn, the tornado here in April 2011 went over the mountain at my farm and I have a LOT of deadfall still scattered through the woods.

Had a local cattle farmer already paying for the hay. But some friends of mine really wanted a dove field so I agreed to give it a shot last year. Wanted to try and do something we could shoot over but that would help with the deer as well.

We tried a small two acre field. Fortunately you learn a lot from your mistakes and we made plenty. But we managed a decent stand of sunflowers and millet and had a few good shoots over it. I then decided to expand the planting and last fall put in 5 acres of winter wheat. It did great and kept the deer happy as they were all over that field all winter.

In late march I sprayed roundup on the edge of the 5 acres of wheat in the field and put strips through middle of it as well. Once that wheat died I tilled it up and we put in 8 rows of corn around field periphery (bought a two row deere 7000 planter last year, 30 inch rows). Did six rows of sunflowers in each of the strips in the middle of the field. Did all that third week of April. Had some setbacks immediately.