Kansas road trip. A little advice please.

The Rodney

I’m headed out with my 16-year-old son and a year and a half old GSP to Kansas. We will hunt public land and I’ve got lodging set up. The Kansas upland bird forecast looks pretty good and we will hunt for quail with some likelihood of kicking up a rooster. This is my first time owning a pointer and he does very well with liberated birds, for a youngster. So it’s a learning experience for all of us and the trip of the season the week of Thanksgiving. Here are some questions:

What things do you take with you for your dog? I’ll have a small kennel plus food and water. What types of things might you carry by way of an improvised first aid kit, do you supplement their food with anything.

I have an F150 and he will just ride in the backseat I don’t have a dog box and he is such a part of the family he would hate being back there, any potential problems with this?

How often do you give them a pee break?

I usually just keep his food bowl topped off all the time, I know that it’s not the usual, I’ll try and make sure he eats in the morning but would you give him any calories in the middle of the day? I understand he needs to not eat or drink immediately before or after exerting himself, is there a magic number like 30 minutes or an hour?

As for me and the boy we’re going to bring three shotguns and some number six shot, I understand the wild birds up there need a little more than the southern 7 1/2 or 8. But down here number six would be too much… Any thoughts? The other thing I thought was if we do kick up a rooster it would be nice to have the heavier payload.

Here is my biggest concern, I’ve only ever put a little bell on him and I like dogs that huntclose, would you hunt Kansas having never been there without a GPS collar? I just don’t feel like dropping the $700 so I’m wondering if there are people that rent GPS collars by the week.