Loaded rifle in vehicle on WMA

**EDIT**

My conclusion is that the DNR Rules are not in conflict with the OCGA regarding the Georgia Weapons License.

OCGA 16-11-126(g) states a person with a GWL may carry a "weapon" in all parks, historic sites or recreational areas

OCGA 16-11-125.1(5) defines a "weapon" as "a knife or a handgun"

OCGA 27-3.1.1(1) & (2) states that it is unlawful to possess a loaded firearm other than a handgun in a motor vehicle on a WMA and that you have to have a GWL to possess a loaded handgun in your vehicle on a WMA.

The distinction here is between a "firearm" and a "weapon." I can't say that I agree with it - but there is no conflict in the law

Thanks to John Monroe for setting me straight on this topic

I am not a lawyer. This is not legal advice

**END EDIT**

Ive been deep down the rabbit hole comparing the published regulations to the Georgia Code and I am curious if anyone knows what code gives the DNR authority to restrict my ability to carry a loaded rifle in my vehicle when on a WMA.

On the DNR Website, and in the published regulations it is stated:

"A Weapons Carry License does not allow the holder to carry a loaded firearm, other than a handgun, in a motor vehicle on a WMA."

1612397626052.png

This would appear to be in contradiction to OCGA 16-11-126.g which states:

"(g) Notwithstanding Code Sections 12-3-10, 27-3-1.1, 27-3-6, and 16-12-122 through 16-12-127, any person with a valid weapons carry license may carry a weapon in all parks, historic sites, or recreational areas, as such term is defined in Code Section 12-3-10, including all publicly owned buildings located in such parks, historic sites, and recreational areas, in wildlife management areas, and on public transportation; provided, however, that a person shall not carry a handgun into a place where it is prohibited by federal law."

Last edited:

Jester896

Senior Clown
Does this cover it?