Mossberg patriot bantam

jcd465

Anyone have any reason not to pick one up? Seems like a nice platform for kids. Thinking about the 350 legend model.

GunnSmokeer

Sounds good to me, I have no personal experience. I see that the 350 Legend is an intermediate powered round that should generate less recoil than either a 30-30 Winchester or a 243 Winchester.

Therefore it may work out of a lightweight gun like this Mossberg bantam or youth model rifle.

PS: I have Mossberg 500 shotgun 20 gauge that is in the Bantam size.
It's got a lot of recoil with high-brass loads, and many newbies and women are disturbed by the kick.

jcd465

Thanks, I have not shot the 350 legend round. My son is a bean pole so I wanted something light kicking. I have always been the biggest in the room so I started with my dads 30/06 but I don't want to do that to my son.

Reactions: Dub

BeerThirty

Can't speak to the bantam models, but both of my sons each received a Mossberg Patriot for their 10th birthday as their first deer rifle. One a .243 and one a 6.5 creed. My oldest son who got the .243 was a beanpole as well, and he handled the gun very well. They are great shooting guns and I would put them up against any of the other budget rifles out there.

Jester896

Senior Clown
A friend that shoots with us at times has a standard Patriot in .308. It is just over 1 MOA @ 100 with the factory loads he shoots at deer or handloads for my .308

Gator89

Thanks, I have not shot the 350 legend round. My son is a bean pole so I wanted something light kicking. I have always been the biggest in the room so I started with my dads 30/06 but I don't want to do that to my son.

Bear Creek Arsenal AR 15 in 350 Legend would be a great low/no kick option.