Prospective GA Fish Hunter Needs Some Help

ChidJ

So I'm new to GA and I had a great time hunting deer but now that deer season is over I still wanna be out getting fresh air and food on the table so I suppose fishing is my next activity to tackle.

I plan to fish, primarily, at Strom Thurmond/Clarks Hill Lake but I may try fishing Lake Oconee as well. I'll be on my tiny boat so probably won't be able to fish too far from shore especially as it heats up and folks start putting more big boats out on the water.

My problem is, I don't know/can't remember the first thing about fishing. I fished as a teenager in the pacific northwest for rainbow trout but that was a long time ago. So here are my questions:

What bait/lures should I be filling the tacklebox with?

Who makes a quality telescopic rod suitable for fishing the aforementioned areas?

What types of reels are appropriate for GA lake fishing?

As always, thank you for any input. Folks on this forum have probably been the single most useful source of knowledge as I've stumbled my way through the GA outdoors

Start by focusing on sunfish with live bait. Shell cracker are one of my favorite. Look in coves with rocky bottoms and some structure like stumps or a tree top. You dont need expensive tackle. Get a bream pole, 10lb line, sinkers, and #6 cricket hooks with worms for bait. Give it a try and learn as you go!

LittleDrummerBoy

Style of fishing and target species tends to dictate rod and reel choices. Never owned or used a telescopic rod that I liked. All my rods have been Ugly Stiks for the past several years - paired with Shimano spinning reels or Daiwa or Okuma level wind reels. But I'm more of a soak bait or trolling lure guy. Each lake is different for best lures since you are more matching the prey species than picking lures for the target species. Lakes with blueback herring fish much differently than lakes without them. Turbid waters also fish differently from clear waters.