Questions about arrowheads/ spearheads

bugman114

Hi yall. I have some Q's about arrow heads. first let me say, that my camera broke, so i apologize for the lack of pics. But i have found some Un-natural looking rocks around here, and was curious weather they are or not.

First off, i have found many black rocks, that have shinny glitter-like specs on them. I have found a few that are perfectly triangular (an equilateral triangle, all sides the same size) , but flat. about an inch in diameter, and about 1/4 inch thick. Also some square ones, also about an inch in diameter, and 1/4 inch thick.

Also, today i was digging a big hole, cuz im making a Koi pond. its 9 feet, by 9 feet, by 4 foot deep. Anyway, After about 1 foot, i noticed i was finding a lot of square rocks. And some rectangular. they were about 2 inches long. they are still covered in clay, so i'm not sure of the rock type, but i'll let ya know 2morrow. So far i am about 1.5 to 2 feet deep. I'm no rock expert, but i'll atleast try to describe as best i can.

I am new to this, and the main reason i want to learn more about this stuff, is cuz i would hate to find something cool, and then toss it, thinking it was just a rock.

Thanks in advance yall.

Also, just cuz i'm curious, at about what depth do yall find most of your artifacts at?

Last edited:

allenww

finding artifacts

Bugman -

Absolutely no smart -aleckyness meant, but of the ones I have found, 99 1/2% have been on top of plowed ground after a rain. The other few have been in water or
on construction sites, and still very near the surface.

The Indians were here just 180 years ago, which is a geologic eye-blink

wa

Nicodemus

Old and Ornery
Staff member
Pics would be a big help, and don`t throw anything away until you can get them looked at.