Redemption is the work of love, not fear

StriperAddict

Awesome blessing from Janet Newberry from "The Cure Group", FB.
==========================================

The first time I ever reached out to John Lynch, after watching his YouTube "Two Roads" message, I asked him if he'd help me understand the part in the video about punishment.

I'd watched the video no less than 100 times, consumed with the hope of grace and the relationship that fixes my eyes on what is possible because of love.

But the part where John is reading the New Testament Gamble and he says, (in God's voice,) "...and I promise to never, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever punish you..."

That part confused me every time.

In my understanding of life, punishment happens with predictable regularity. People grow old, gravity is real, and punishment is like paying a bill.

After years of serving as a public school administrator, I'd spent hours of my life creating "discipline plans," carefully measuring out punishment.

I believed if I gave the right dosage of punishment, the bad behavior would be cured.

Love keeps no record of wrongs, but punishment does. Every new office referral earned a new level of shame. (Ouch. Even typing those words makes me cringe.)

So now...fast forward about 8 years. That's how long it's taken to unplug 50 years of relying on punishment in my mind and start replacing it with redemption.

Punishment isn't the cure.

Redemption is the work of love, not fear.

Not shame.

It is the work of transformation, not behavior modification.

Those plans I'd made at school were not "discipline plans," they were "punishment plans."

Punishment looks back at the behavior and assigns a penalty.

Behavior is the echo of belief.

Discipline looks at the person and reminds us of our true identity. Then, discipline sticks with us while we experience the natural consequences that come in response to the choices we make about behavior.