The Power of Encouragement

StriperAddict

“Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouth,
But only that which is helpful for building up others according to their needs, that it may benefit those who hear.” (Ephesians 4:29)

The Power of Encouragement

At the church where I first served as a pastor, I met a very unkind man we’ll call Joe. He was disheveled in appearance, extremely overweight, and a chain smoker. He was arrogant and loud, opinionated, and rude. If you got too close to him, he wouldn’t hesitate to blow smoke in your face, not only from his cigarette, but also from the negative and sarcastic words that flowed all too easily from his lips. I sought to engage him, but quickly ended the conversation and moved on to greener pastures, searching for people who had some semblance of kindness and courtesy.

Over the weeks and months, I observed him each Sunday conducting his search and destroy mission on the various unsuspecting people who sought to converse with him. They would extend a hand and seek to establish eye contact, but their hand was rejected, and their eyes left peering into empty space. Their attempts to pass the normal pleasantries of a Sunday morning were quickly deflected, providing nothing more than an opportunity for him to voice his disapproval of whatever the topic of conversation they were presenting.

Those who knew better, who had previously encountered his brutish behavior, simply kept their distance and made sure their eyes did not meet those of this miserable man. There was not an ounce of judgement in my heart for those people, for I too made every effort to avoid him. It would be difficult to teach the Bible on a Sunday morning with the raging indigestion that was sure to come from a harsh and unnerving encounter with him.