Unreal!

ChrisSpikes

Man, what a hunt! I can't believe how GOD has smiled on me this past week. The whole thing seems unreal!

Yesterday afternoon at Horse Creek, I strapped on all my gear and decided to make the long walk back to the spot me and Robert call the "2 Mile Oak". On my way back, I came across a Swamp Chestnut that was dropping hard, and showing a good bit of sign. I knew that a lot of the sign was from hogs, but some of it had to be deer. I found one pile of droppings, and saw some deer tracks here and there around the tree. I studied the spot for a while, and finally picked out a tree to climb that would give me plenty of cover.

From the time that I got on the stand, I didn't like the setup. I had plenty of cover alright, so much that I couldn't shoot under a good portion of the chestnut. The limbs that were blocking my shots were out of reach. I contemplated climbing down and drilling another tree, but kept debating the move until it was too late to do it. Right at that time when you expect to see one, a doe came in and fed under the tree for a good 10 minutes, all the while within 15 yards. I was upset with myself for making a rookie mistake, and just as soon as she eased off, which was right at dark, I climbed down, picked out a better tree, and drilled my holes and got set up for the next morning.

My clock went off at 5:45 this morning, and I jumped up and hit the showers. I wanted to go in as clean and scent free as possible. As soon as I could get dressed, I headed out so I could be on stand and settled in before daylight.