First Fly Rod for 7 (almost 8) year old son

DryFly73

Hi Folks,

This is my first time posting in this particular forum, but I do read a good many of the posts here. I have a question. I would like to get my 7 year old boy into fly fishing... any suggestions on a starter rod? I have several different length rods that I use, but did not know if I should think about something specific for him (length, weight, etc.). Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

KINGFISHER

I agree with centerpin fan on the Bug Launcher. Also Tim Rajeff's company Echo, makes a fly rod for kids called the Gecko. Looks like a kid would really like it, it's really colorful.

stasher1

x2

I have one of each and think they're pretty hard to beat for the price. As a matter of fact, I spent the weekend fishing the Toccoa and Fightingtown Creek, and used my little 7' EC Featherlight more than the more expensive rigs I had brought.

fishinbub

x2

I have one of each and think they're pretty hard to beat for the price. As a matter of fact, I spent the weekend fishing the Toccoa and Fightingtown Creek, and used my little 7' EC Featherlight more than the more expensive rigs I had brought.

They are both great rods. I have several rods now but nothing has replaced my 7' Eagle Claw Granger as my small stream rod. It is incredibly light, which is a big plus for kids. You don't want to give them something they can't handle.

DryFly73

I hate to say this, but I don't want to spend much at this age. I have 3 TFO rods that I fish with now that I absolutely LOVE. I would love to buy him a TFO rod, but not until he gets the hang of it. I would like to get him something that he can learn on, make mistakes on, bang up, etc. I will certainly take a look at the Eagle Claw's. THANKS!!

yaknfish

Another option would be an Ugly Stik. Never fished one, but I like the spinning rods. They had 'em at Dick's last time I was there. Might not be quite as cheap as those yellow Eagle Claws, but he probably won't break it!