Another WMA access rant- access blocked to thousands of acres of Chestatee

ripplerider

My nephew and I tried to hunt the Tollgate section on Chestatee Saturday morning only to find a private gate blocking the lower access along Town Creek and a "No Private Access" sign. I have been hunting this area for 30 yrs. or more and never found the road blocked.The small lot on Forest Service land where we park to hunt is the southern end of the Logan's Turnpike trail which starts out in Tesnatee Gap on Richard Russell Scenic Hwy.

We could still access this country via Tesnatee Gap but getting any game out would be a nightmare. Tesnatee is roughly 3300' high and the trail out is very steep. It's rough enough to get one out downhill in that country. Getting to where I like to hunt would mean side-hilling a long, long way through ivy thickets and rock cliffs. Bringing game back out that way would be nearly impossible.

I spoke with a Forest Service supervisor about this situation who said it's a done deal. Even though the public has been accessing this tract for over 50 yrs. this one landowner has the right to close the road. I think thats a crying shame.

tree cutter 08

I know where your talking about. We cut some trees for the guy last year and said he was going to have it closed. Sounds like he did.

NE GA Pappy

Mr. Pappy
I hate it for you, but if he owns the land, more power to him. I wouldn't want people accessing my land without permission night and day either

jbogg

Hey Ripple! I have parked at Tesnatee gap and hunted off the AT west of Cowrock MTN. The WMA side of the trail is super steep. I have spent most of my time on the NF north of the AT. I have not had to pack anything out yet due to being on injured reserve most of this fall, but when that day comes it will be a gut check.

jbogg

Also, the pic in my avatar was taken while camping at Rock Top Spring along the AT. Somewhere in the valley behind me is the Logon's Turnpike trail.

ripplerider