My 2021 Dove Field Thread

ChattBuck

If it's a little much I apologize. I'm still new to this whole planting thing but I have the addiction and it's bad. Got a new toy for Christmas, a Mavic 2 drone, so I'll be able to capture my field from a different perspective as it progresses through the season. last year a buddy's kid came out a couple of times with his drone and got me some shots. Decided I needed to do it myself this time around.

This thread is basically for me to document what I do this year so I can go back and view it in later years. I've learned a ton from everyone here and have a lot more to learn. Maybe others can learn from my mistakes and hopefully some successes. Got several good shoots off this field last year after a great opening day. Hoping for the same this year.

Sadly my good friend that was my close partner in doing this field and had a good bit of experience passed away 2 months ago. 49 years old, two teenagers and a wife at home, and Covid got him. I miss my buddy and his help. In his honor we are having his dad and sons come shoot with us this fall on the field. Really hopeful I can get this stuff out of the ground and some birds flying in September.

Basics

4.6 acre field-in far NWGA 3 miles from TN border at the base of White Oak Mtn in Ringgold.

Soil sample last fall got us on a plan for lime (ph was 5.9)and fertilizer. Just added another ton of the lime this week along with 220 lbs of triple 15 per acre. Added 200 pounds of nitrogen fertilizer on the corn half of the field. Plan to do another sample early fall to see where I'm at before planting this field in brassicas and winter wheat for the deer through the winter.

Burned last winters brassicas and winter wheat 3 weeks ago with Roundup (about 72oz of roundup per acre) and got the whole field browned up.