Your choice for deerhunting handgun

Old Crusty

I'm somewhat new to the world of handguns. I bought a S&W M&P 9mm about a year ago and have been having a blast shooting it. I think I'm ready to try deer hunting with one next year, and would like to purchase a larger caliber soon. If you were going to recommend a setup for me what would it be?

Apex Predator

It's really hard to beat a Ruger Blackhawk in .44 mag.

Sargent

I have been contemplating at TC Contender in .30-30

Offroadtek

If you want a pistol similar to your M&P you won't go wrong with a Glock 20 in 10mm. If your open to revolvers then you have a whole other world to explore. In the revolver world your caliber selection is limited by how much recoil you can handle. 500 S&W, 44 Mag, 41 Mag, 357 Mag.

Bam Bam

If you want a pistol similar to your M&P you won't go wrong with a Glock 20 in 10mm. If your open to revolvers then you have a whole other world to explore. In the revolver world your caliber selection is limited by how much recoil you can handle. 500 S&W, 44 Mag, 41 Mag, 357 Mag.

You forgot 454 casull,45LC,410,460,480 ruger,45-70,30-30,35 rem etc. etc. etc.!!! There are several big bore cailbers offered in Revolvers and Contenders! I own a Tarurus 8 3/8 inch Revolver in 44mag!!!!

Last edited:

7Mag Hunter

I used a Super Blackhawk 7.5" barrel in 44mag exclusively
for about 5 years...with and without a scope...Finally took the
scope off because I prefer open sights and all my shots were
under 40 yds.......
Handloaded 180gr HP up to 240 gr HP and SP bullets.....
Plenty of gun for anything in GA and great balance to shoot..

Larry Rooks

Ruger Blackhawk in 45 Colt, cast Keith type semi wadcutters 255 gr for deer and hog. Ruger SBH in 44 mag, cast 275 gr Flat Nose. Both with iron sights

GunnSmokeer

8" barreled scoped revolver

I'd suggest an 8" barreled revolver in either .44 magnum or .454 Casull (which can use .45 Colt ammo, too).