Go Back   Georgia Outdoor News Forum > Archery and Primitive Skills > Bowhunting

View Poll Results: What size group do you consistently shoot at 20 yards?
.5 - 1.5 inch 17 27.42%
1.5 - 2.5 inch 20 32.26%
2.5 - 3.5 inch 20 32.26%
3.5 - 4.5 inch 3 4.84%
aprox. 5 inch 2 3.23%
Voters: 62. You may not vote on this poll

Old 08-09-2006, 04:54 PM

Arrow What is a good sized "group" when shooting a bow?

I am still pretty new to bowhunting and since I got this new bow I have been shooting alot more. I can see a difference already in my accuracy.

I was wondering what exactly is a good sized "group?" With say 4 or 5 arrows at 20 yards? How about 30 yards too? Today I was shooting from 3 to 4 inch groups at 20 yards. Is this pretty good or do I need to work on it somemore before bowseason?

Thanks
Chris
Most powerful words ever spoken. (Jesus Christ in Luke 23:34)
Old 08-09-2006, 05:36 PM

3 - 4 is good.....that will get-r-done on a deer

but of course the tighter the better......but then they say that about lots of other thangs too.
Old 08-09-2006, 05:39 PM

Default Go get'em tiger...

A good rule of thumb is if your group is the size of a paper plate you are ready...What ever distance thatis....If you are confident to 20yds go for it.....

Keep practicing,it's fun.........
Old 08-09-2006, 07:21 PM

I voted avg group to be 2.5 -3.5 . But with todays equipment at 20 yrds you should have to aim at a diff spot every time at 20 --I eneded up refletching 2out 5 the other nite punching 1spot just to get a feel on my group All were within 1.5 ''
-Last time I do that for kicks
Old 08-09-2006, 07:51 PM

i cut quarter sized holes in a piece of cardstock papper and painted dots on the back of my block ,12 of them and at 20 yards i can hit around 9-10 most of the time...when i get a new doz. arrows i number them and write where they hit and see if there is a pattern,like one arrow is always 2" or whatever out of the circle...
Easton A/C/C hyperspeeds
Old 08-09-2006, 08:01 PM