Black Krim

B. White

Question for the mater experts who have grown these from seed before. I put in small 4" pots a week ago Thursday and they grew as much as an inch some days to roughly double the size of other varieties I have in the same conditions. Cherry tomatoes are the only ones about the same. I pulled them out yesterday to move to one quart pots.

I was surprised at the root growth and now I'm wondering if my one qt pots will last. I planned on it being about 3 weeks before I put them out. I have bigger pots on order, but hate to move them all up again just for a week or two. If you have grown them, how big of a pot did you end up in before transplanting? Did they slow down? Do they produce good, or just a lot of vines<? I guess I could plant in two weeks, depending on the forecast.

Roots after one week below, 8 of them together in one qt pots below that. This is my first year growing everything from seed, so I probably should have went backward from set out date instead of last frost date.

1648300250871.jpeg

1648300280352.jpeg

ucfireman

Dont know but those look great, way better than anything I ever started from seed.
I would say leave them in the Qt pots and break the roots at planting, and of course plant deep.

antharper

“Well Rounded Outdoorsman MOD “
Staff member
Wow , are you Saying those are 9 days old ? I’ve grown a lot from seed but never seen that much growth , never tried that variety either . They look great

B. White

Wow , are you Saying those are 9 days old ? I’ve grown a lot from seed but never seen that much growth , never tried that variety either . They look great

Ha, no, but I can see how you would say that reading it.

Planted on 2/16.
Repotted the 2nd time a week ago Thursday.
This pic was taken yesterday after pulling them out to be repotted for the 3rd time, so the root growth you see is what happened over 8 day.
If this happened in 8 days, I'm worried they might get rootbound three weeks from yesterday.

fishfryer