Clybel (Charlie Elliott) rifle range experience?

GAHUNTER60

Curious as to how the "digital targets" are working out. Some folks I've talked to up at Wilson Shoals range tell me they quit going to Clybel because the digital targets don't accurately register the location of their groups on the target, which is important when zeroing a rifle for long range hunting.

As a reloader, I shoot for both group and zero when testing hunting loads, and I have reservations about these new-fangled targets compared to plain old paper targets. Most concerning of all is that Wilson Shoals is slated to install the exact same system in the near future.

So what's your experienced?

frankwright

I have no experience but I know a good many shooters that go to CMP Park in Talladega and shoot competition and practice using the same sight system and they all love it.

Now whether the WMA range is using the same high quality system or not would be the question.

35 Whelen

This is the system used at Charlie Elliott according to the DNR website:

bighonkinjeep

I went to Wilson Shoals today for that very reason. When doing load development I want paper. Also had to check zero and adjust a thermal and that requires a heat pack or thermal target be placed downrange.

Its my understanding the "environmentalists" are making noise about the lead and forcing the change to bullet traps.

Last edited:

ditchdoc24