Coyote pulled stake out of ground

Josh1997

Pulled up this morning had a big yote on one set and as I pulled up he pulled the trap out of the ground and ran off. I’ve caught a couple before him but I’m still new to this, I have the stakes in the picture attached from Minnesota trap line. I bury the whole wire and even some of the chain and then pull up to set it. Is there anything I could do better to keep them from doing this? Thanks

Attachments

• 6BFA016A-175E-4312-B2A6-CF4A196E84E6.jpeg
    6BFA016A-175E-4312-B2A6-CF4A196E84E6.jpeg
    6.3 KB · Views: 14

CritterCatcher

How old is the super stake? I lost a trap this year and couldn't figure out how until I went to set another and it just pulled right out when I went to set it... minus the part that holds. I looked at where the cable attaches to that, and saw that it was completely frayed through.

Perhaps yours held until you set it, but gave way when the yote was caught. I have checked all of mine now and replaced those that look suspicious.

And as Doug says, welcome aboard.

Last edited:

Railroader

Billy’s Security Guard.
I'm pretty new too, and one thing I have learned for sure is that anything can happen.

In this case something had to have given way.

As hard as the earth anchors are to pull out, I can't imagine a critter being able to generate enough power to just yank it out.

I'm glad this didn't happen to me, I'd be out there going crazy trying to find him and figger out what happened... ?

Welcome to the forum, hang around a while!

Josh1997