first traditional deer (with story)

FERAL ONE

Shutter Mushin' Mod
let me say first i have been bowhunting since 1990 during that time i have NEVER killed a deer on the bow opener. i guess my buck fever is as bad as it gets and i have never been able to pull it together on opening day. i have taken 15 or more deer with a compound bow but several years ago i felt the pull of traditional archery and started down the path with the longbow. nothing against wheels, i would pick one back up if something ever prevents me from shooting my longbow. there is just something different about it. to me my compound was a tool for hunting but the longbow was a friend i could carry no matter what i was doing (stump shooting is great practice and a good excuse to get in the woods) the flight of the arrow and seeing the feathers spin is an almost mystical experience. i sold my compound 3 years ago and decided that i needed to get serious about my quest to take a deer with traditional gear. the commitment was worth it. i keep a target where i work and shoot during my lunch a couple times a week,(i work nights). last night as i got in the truck a lynyrd skynyrd (sp) was playing as i turned the key. all i heard was " THE SMELL OF DEATH IS AROUND YOU". i smiled to myself and wondered if that was a good sign. as i pulled up to the target and looked at the clock on the dash i noticed it was 2:43 another good sign (love it when the clock shows calibers) i did not shoot much maybe 5 groups of 2 arrows each just to calibrate my eye and stretch my arm. as quitting time rolled around, i headed out for the alabama opener. it was a lot cooler than i expected but it felt great. i hit the bottom i was headed for, the same place i stared down a 6 pointer with my longbow last year. as i neared my ambush point i heard a deer bound off. it ran but did not snort so i slowed my pace and picked my way carefully to the point of the "L" shaped bottom. i sat my stool down and surveyed shooting lanes as the l