How Many AR Hunters Out There?

lineman73

How many folks out there use or have used an AR-type rifle for deer hunting?

I have been using an AR off and on since 2012. My first AR was a Smith and Wesson M&P15 Sport. I mounted a Smith and Wesson .300 AAC Blackout upper on it. I took a 105 lb doe with that combo in 2012.
300 BLK Upper.jpgDoe Nov 10th 2012.jpg
I shot this doe right after I took the picture. I was not impressed with the performance of the .300 Blackout. I shot the deer square in the chest with a 115 grain bullet and it ran over 200 yards, leaving next to no blood trail. That stinks!! I sold that rifle combination.

I replaced the M&P15 in 2014 with a DPMS Panther Arms Oracle. This one I equipped with a Stag Arms Model 7H upper in 6.8mm Remington SPC. I have installed a MagPul MOE stock, MagPul hand grip, Bushnell Trophy 1.5-4.5 x 32 scope and an Amy Geissele Advanced Combat Trigger on the DPMS lower (3.5 lb pull). I shot a 167 lb doe with it last year, at a laser rangefinder verified 230 yards. The doe went 50 ft and dropped. The Hornady Custom 120 grain SST bullet turned the chest cavity to pure soup and left a huge exit hole and a great blood trail. This beats the heck out of the .300 Blackout performance!! I will use this combo again!!
Stag 6.8 SPC Upper.jpg Doe Taken Dec 7 With 6.8 SPC AR Rifle.jpg

Anybody else have experience deer hunting with the Modern Sporting Rifle? I'm gearing up to try the DPMS rifle with the original 5.56mm upper. It is equipped with a Bushnell Banner Trophy 1.75-5 x 20 scope. I have picked up some of the Winchester 64 grain Razorback ammo for it and will sight it in and use it this year. Hopefully this ammo will perform as well as the 6.8mm SPC. We'll see.

And Bill Clinton said there was no sporting use for an assault rifle!! Bah!! What does he know!! Lets hear it for "evil black rifles"!!!
:yeah::fine::cool::clap::banana:

Last edited:

Bubba Watson

Gone but not forgotten.
AR-type