Laws and Precedents Pertaining to shooting a bear out of season in defense of dog

besclavon

I am new to GON, so thank you for your help/posts.

I have an issue where i was charged with shooting a bear out of season in Georgia last month and i would like to find more legal information. I was in the right for shooting due to self defense/property defense. I have googled this many times and not come up with many results, so I am looking for more help or advice to exonerate myself in court next month. I am a life long law abiding licensed hunter/fisher with no priors. It is unfortunate this happened, but I was protecting my dog. That is the only reason I shot.

Here is my back story: A aggressive yearling male bear was foraging for food at my cabin in the N. Ga. mountains (i am not the only documented case. this has been a recent problem all over the county). The bear got into some cleaned recyclables and dug up a few yellow jackets nests. My dog, a 20lb beagle, got out and started messing with the bear. I yelled and made noise, the dog didn't listen, nor did the bear leave. I have a CCW permit, so i grabbed my glock and went to separate the 2. My dog bit the bear on the rear, the bear turned to go after the dog, and then i shot the bear once in the head and killed it. The bear was 2ft from the dog when i shot it. In addition, this all happened 10-15ft from the porch of my house on private property. I called DNR, reported it, asked for disposal help, and they cited me with a $150 fine and a violation of 27-3-15 (taking game out of season). I never admitted guilt on wrong doing on anything.