Ok… total newbie… am I ok so far?

Jim Boyd

Tumbled brass for about 3 hours, it was pretty rank. Had been reloaded before in 2012 by a buddy of mine and shot at various times over the last 10 years.

All was bought new and cycled through the same Savage 7-08.

So, this will be the second reloading of these cases.

Installed correct shell holder.

Installed Hornady quick lock device and put Lee decapping / resize die in. Screwed the die down til it bottomed on the shell holder, lowered ram and went in 1/3 more turn.

Liberally lubed all cases and ran them through the press. Some cycled slightly more easily than the others.

Cleaned all the primer pockets but the tool did not make them shiny bright.

Dumped all the brass back in the tumbler and gonna let it run a few more hours.

What did I screw up?

Is the brass properly sized and ready to be measured and trimmed to length?

Many many thanks !

I am super excited.

6E7D38A9-1719-43F8-AA1D-A9F498207C07.jpegE8260526-8993-4E7F-B088-49AA361269F1.jpeg

bullgator

Make sure you check the primer pockets and flash holes for any stuck media.

The 1/3 turn seems like a lot of overcam. I usually do 1/8” to maybe a 1/4 turn at most.

You’re right on track.

menhadenman

Tumbled brass for about 3 hours, it was pretty rank. Had been reloaded before in 2012 by a buddy of mine and shot at various times over the last 10 years.

All was bought new and cycled through the same Savage 7-08.

So, this will be the second reloading of these cases.

Installed correct shell holder.

Installed Hornady quick lock device and put Lee decapping / resize die in. Screwed the die down til it bottomed on the shell holder, lowered ram and went in 1/3 more turn.

Liberally lubed all cases and ran them through the press. Some cycled slightly more easily than the others.

Cleaned all the primer pockets but the tool did not make them shiny bright.

Dumped all the brass back in the tumbler and gonna let it run a few more hours.

What did I screw up?