Question about Hog meat

Roadking65

I am new to hog hunting. A few years ago a friend gave us a front shoulder/leg and we slow cooked it on the BBQ pit turning it over a lot and sort of smoked it. It was really good!
So recently someone told me the rear quarters are really not good eating. And another told me they way its butcherd makes all the difference.
If I see one this year during hunting I plan on killing it. Several were spotted on members trail cams. Do you gut it and quarter it up just like a deer?

Thanks
RK

joey1919

Most people who say things like that have either never tried it or they or someone else didn't handle the meat properly. That or they can't cook.

Put the hog down fast, clean him and cool the meat in a reasonable amount of time. Cook it like you would any other pig. Might be leaner but it should taste fine.

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
What Joey said. Somebody told you a bunch of bull. Be careful when you're skinning and gutting to not get any urine or the nasty outside of the hide on the meat. Washing a hog down with a waterhose before skinning if you have the means to do it is a good idea. Other than that, do it like a deer, or scrape/butcher cut it up the same way people do domestic hogs. It works either way. Most of the few I've killed, I've just skinned, quartered, and made pulled bbq or sausage except for the loins and such. The hindquarters are just as good as the forequarters to me, with a lot more meat on them too.

markland

Most people who say things like that have either never tried it or they or someone else didn't handle the meat properly. That or they can't cook.

Put the hog down fast, clean him and cool the meat in a reasonable amount of time. Cook it like you would any other pig. Might be leaner but it should taste fine.