Ranting of an Aging Nurse 1.1

gunnurse

I sat tonight looking at my pitiful dog. She is a 14-year old chihuahua. She wet the kitchen floor tonight, and I was so angry at her. Then, I remembered...

I have been a paramedic since 1993. I was an EMT since 1984. I rose through the ranks to shift commander. In between that, I was a firefighter at a nuclear plant. Before that, I was a firefighter at the fastest running company at the fastest growing in the U.S. (Gwinnett County.) I have been privileged to be places where few people have ever been- such as a medical response team on top of the dome of an operating nuclear reactor. Today, I work as a nurse at a major cardiology clinic. Been there, done that, etc, etc.

But back to my dog. She lies pitifully looking up with a crooked spine. Unable to fully control her bodily functions. The same puppy that used to go crazy when I asked “Who’s that!?!” She’s now blind, mostly deaf, and relies on memory and smell to find her food dish. Like me- after my multiple spinal surgeries. Confined to be just a clinic nurse. Nothing like the excitement and skill I used in the ER. But I remember- it’s not “patients” that I encounter... It’s people. And I give myself a pass. Like I give my chihuahua a pass.

SC Hunter

If more people, especially pre hospital setting, treated people like people instead of like a patient things would be much better. You've been around for a while and seem to still have the compassion that freaking many people lose and it really bothers me. I hate your dog has got into that sort of shape and it truly sucks to see a loved dog like that. Prayers sent for the pup and for you be careful out there.

PS. I'm glad it was you on top of the nuclear reactor and not me!:ROFLMAO:

THE HATCHET MAN