Remington Nylon 66

dslc6487

Any of my fellow hunters out there ever use a Remington Nylon 66 for squirrel hunting? I bought one way back in the early 70's from J. C. Penny for $59.95. I have shot it some, but not much. I am an avid squirrel hunter and have used shotguns mostly along with my feist dogs. I am now 72 years old and the shotguns and all of the shells that I carry are becoming heavy and I am thinking about switching to my Nylon 66 for hunting. Just trying to lighten my load somewhat as I am not as steady on my feet as I used to be and the weight of my shotgun, shells, snake boots, and other hunting equip that I carry tend to make me prone to tripping.
So, what say you? Anyone using a Nylon? Also, what would be a good scope to use for the Nylon. I am not a deer hunter, so I have never used a scope on a rifle before. What advice would you give to me? Any and all advice appreciated...

Hillbilly stalker

A Remington Nylon 66 is a very good rifle. I had a couple over the years and they were real shooters. They made 4 or 5 different colors and some are real valuable. A decent cheaper scope would be a Simmons .44 mag scope. They are around $50 and do real good on squirrel hunts. I made a mistake of taking a Nylon 66 apart one time, it was like taking the back off a watch, springs went everywhere. I had to pay a gunsmith to put it back together. That rifle is probably worth $200-$300 or more now.

madie