Removing thatch - how important

ppelaez

After disc’ing and dragging, i have a ton of thatch in the plot. How important is it to remove before spreading seed? It’s a small 1/4 acre plot and I’m doing it the hard way - with an ATV Groundhog disc and then dragging with a harrow. I’ve always raked the thatch off the plot thinking that it would prevent good seed to soil contact. It’s a lot of work raking - just wondering if it’s really necessary.

Milkman

Deer Farmer Moderator
Staff member
I have been planting for deer for 50 years and have never done what you describe. I say no it isn’t necessary.

Lilly001

I usually bushhog before I disc up.
that way any vegetive matter is cut smaller.
But I have just disced and seeded, leaving a lot of tangled mess behind. It is not as pretty but it still works.

Big7

The Oracle
I have been planting for deer for 50 years and have never done what you describe. I say no it isn’t necessary.
This. ^^^^^^

Better to turn it under if you got enough harrow, IMO.

Rotting vegetation is good + it loosens the soil and holds moisture.

Canuck5

Food Plot advisor extraordinaire !
Leave it .... seed a little heavier if need be.

The thatch has a "fertilizer value" of around 4-.5-2, along with hold moisture and temperature, in the ground.

Meriwether Mike

I have done it both ways. Whether you remove or not did not seem to make a difference. Its like spreading wheat straw over your yard when you seed it.

elfiii

Admin
Staff member
If I have to cultivate (I'm 95% clover) then the soil is going to get tilled to a farethewell and whatever the drag harrow leaves behind stays where it lays. Sooner or later it breaks down and becomes a soil amendment. If it sprouts back up, kill it again next year.

Long Cut

To add-
I’ve moved towards a Spray-Mow-Spray then wait - Broadcast Seed

I’ll spray early September, Mow mid-late September then spray again late September or early October; wait for good rain and broadcast seed.